Aye there’s the rub! Vegetarian wontons with mushroom umami 

“Aye, there’s the rub!” Didn’t think I could ever connect Shakespeare with wonton noodle soup until today. 

Mushroom seasoning is my go to salt substitute to cook and marinate Chinese food. It’s the perfect umami to enhance tofu, meats, seafood. I also use it to make a basic veggie broth (just add sesame oil, some Napa cabbage and white pepper).  

Tonight I made wontons (traditional pork and shrimp for hubby and kids) and a veggie version for myself. I didn’t have firm tofu, only fried ones. Turns out the fried tofu as a filling (pulsed in food processor) turned out divinely satisfying and best of all, it held together instead of the globby mess I usually settle for in packed tofu.

   
   

Leave a Reply

